The Happiest Place on Earth?

Sunny California. The land of sandy beaches, sparkling water, movie stars, mansions, Rodeo Drive, aging hippies, and of course….the happiest place on earth, Disneyland.

 

Just seeing the word Disneyland makes one think of laughter, smiles, hugs, families bonding, the skipping of children from ride to ride, and a world of fantasy come to life.

 

Or, it could mean spilled $6 lemonade at every turn, Mommy I want this, Mommy I want that, my legs are tired so hold me, please hold me, my tummy hurts, can I have cotton candy, my legs are tired HOLD ME, what’s wrong with the camera—did you break it, where’s the damn autograph book, don’t drop that, slow down, hurry up, slow down, if it’s scary just close your eyes, are we there yet, HOLD ME, can I get on your shoulders, I can’t see, I still can’t see, I want to ride it again, no honey it’s too expensive, I think it’s this way, No, it’s that way, I told you I was right, You don’t have to rub it in, I said DIET Coke, not COKE damnit, come back here, another Bailey’s on ice please, why is the line closed, too bad the line isn’t closed, I want to go home, I don’t want to go home…….

 

Although the scenes above were actual events played out by real people and not by actors, it actually was a really good family vacation. I’d say it was about a day too long though. We arrived on Friday afternoon, met up with Hubbie, and hit the park. It turned dark around 5 in California, so it always seemed later than it was, leaving us ultra tired at the end of the day. Kate got just about every favorite character’s autograph, and the princess dinner was a hit. She and her friend both dressed as Cinderella and went to Aerial’s grotto for a (disgusting) dinner with all of the princesses. She was in absolute Heaven, of course, while the parents were in a bizarre, pink-tinted version of Hell  and just about coming to fists over making sure their own little princess got ample face time with Aerial and her crew. Much to Hubbie’s amazement, I stood my ground and defended my daughter’s turf, camera in hand. I think the surrounding moms could see it in my eyes that it was best not to challenge me.

 

The food  at the princess dinner was almost inedible, but then again, you’re really not paying a $100 tab for cold meatloaf or tuna sandwiches, the featured entrees, or for generic Rocky Road ice cream dumped on top of a frozen brownie topped with runny whip cream for dessert.

 

We rode just about every ride she was tall enough for, saw just about every show we could see, and ate just about every crappy pizza or hamburger and French fry meal at the park. I could go another six months without a single fry and be perfectly fine, maybe longer. And we downed just about every $3.50 bottle of water or $5.00 Coke in the park as well.

 

We left Disney on Sunday night and headed to Studio/Universal City. We didn’t really have plans to see Universal Studios but the family we were with was going so we just followed suit. Big waste of money. I mean, some of it was enjoyable and interesting, but for $140 for the 3 of us, I’d say we got about $50 worth of enjoyment out of it. And worse, I had to be a “stunt volunteer” in this sound effects show along with Hubbie where they superimposed me having dinner with The Klumps, fighting off a giant kitty, and other random and ridiculous stuff. Not my finest moment folks. If recorded, that one will definitely ruin my chances of ever being voted into office.

 

But the day before Universal we got really adventurous and decided to cab it to Hollywood Blvd. where we saw the Chinese Theatre with all of the footprints and handprints and the Walk of Fame which was pretty cool and super touristy. Loved the street performers walking around—a bony Wonder Woman, a dirty-looking Spiderman, and an off-brand Mickey Mouse. Then we took a cab to Melrose b/c I wanted to hit some vintage stores and snag a super cool CA treasure. The stupid driver took us to a freaking mall and dumped us off at Macy’s. I can find a treasure there just blocks from my house. So we walked. And walked. And then walked some more. With a four year old, mind you. I’d say we covered about 15 blocks trying to make it to Melrose. We walked for at least an hour. But we cut through some residential neighborhoods and saw some awesome CA homes. I was almost in tears by the time we reached Melrose. I wasn’t in the mood to shop at all. Then we realized Sunset Blvd. wasn’t that far away. So off we went again. Misery. I think Hubbie was trying to “recoup” the $30 wasted cab fare we just spent by punishing ourselves with walking. We conveniently landed near Guitar Center on Sunset . And for those of you who know Hubbie at all, this is his Garden of Eden. It was the where the Hollywood Rock Walk is housed, where all of the guitar greats leave their handprints in cement, as well as the Rock Walk museum—a guitar lover’s dream come true. While he was mesmerized by the memorabilia from Eddie Van Halen and Ace Freeley, Kate and I wandered down a bit where I found love at first credit card swipe.

 

It was a store called Sugar Baby, Rocker Moms; Not Soccer Moms. It had the coolest clothes for kids. I snapped up an oh-so-fitting Rocker Mom; Not A Soccer Mom t-shirt and went next door where I found some seriously hot clothes, making them mine in a matter of minutes. Scored big there. I could have done so much more damage but I realized I was pushing it on time with the Sunset crowd coming out, all while dragging my pre-schooler down the street.

 

Wednesday was a travel day, and it was long and tiring. Too many bags, too tired, everyone in a foul mood. Wine was in order on the way back and Hubbie I partook of it, hardly saying a word because really, there were no more words left. Facial expressions sufficed. That much togetherness over the course of five days had left us both physically and mentally drained. I came back to work and had my cube covered in Post-its, thanks to an email I sent out before I left. Just you wait, marketing girls….. just you wait.

 

Oh, and did I mention that tonight I’ll be working on creating a cardboard sign to hold up on the side of the road, “Will Work to Pay for This Vacation?” Yes, I need a second job or possibly a loan to pay for all of this. The cab fares alone could have paid for an all-inclusive trip for 2 to Mexico. Then to come home and read the last rites to our dishwasher….yes, it’s an expensive month in this household.

 

This morning the baby cried for her breakfast. I flew up the stairs, so anxious to see her. I hadn’t seen her in about a week. She didn’t really notice me, downed her bottle, and looked up. She stared at me for a long time then started to cry. When my Mom took her, she stopped. She had totally bonded with my Mom! When Hubbie went to pick her up, she screamed like a needle was poking her. She was terrified of him. We have spent the entire evening kissing our baby’s butt/sucking up to her, trying to make her like us again. Geez Louise.

 

It’s good to be home. In a year’s time, I have been pregnant, given birth, taken my oldest daughter to Disneyworld while six months pregnant, and now to Disneyland while leaving my baby at home. I think that is quite a lot of “kid stuff.” The last relaxing vacation for two was 3 summers ago. I’d say I’m overdue for one of those. I actually started planning one to Cabo on the plane ride back. As soon as I get enough change in my plastic Taco Bell cup from standing on the side of the road begging for money to fund this damn trip, I’m SO there.

 

I have tons of vacation pics to post. They just haven’t been downloaded yet. I will probably get it done over the weekend. Now I’m headed to what I call the happiest place on earth, a nice Bailey’s on ice and hitting the couch to watch Tivo’d Desperate Housewives next to Hubbie while he works on his laptop, kids in bed. Yes, my friends, dreams can come true!

 

‘Til then……

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Happiest Place on Earth?

  1. ann says:

    I\’m tired reading that! Send me a bailey\’s on ice ;)You hit Disney World AND Disney Land in one year? WOW! You\’re brave… I think it\’s basically a human trap operated by a mouse, isn\’t it?! Haha… I live an hour and a half from Disney World and the last time I went was 4 or 5 years ago… I\’m set for another 4 or 5! I saw dirty Spider-man on Hollywood Blvd too… I took his picture 🙂 Love the "rocker mom… not a soccer mom" shirt… I need one of those! Glad you had fun… looking forward to seeing the pics.:) Cori

  2. Tina says:

    Damn, Girl! I am tired just reading that! I am glad that Kate enjoyed dinner with the princesses. Even though the food was bad and it was overpriced it is something that she will always remember. And just think, since you took Kate, you are probably going to have to take Liv sometime as well!And I saw the replies from your co workers on your post it email – I had a feeling that you were going to get something!Well, hope you get some rest this weekend!Tinap.s. The pics of Kate in her Karate class are adorable!And I sent you an email – didnt want it to get lost in your Spam

  3. Frannie says:

    I just love the way you tell your stories. The scene involving the mommy I want this, mommy I want that…..is soooo true….and I had to laugh since it was a perfect description of our last trip to Disney. Kate must still be talking about getting all the autographs and having dinner with the princesses. I can\’t wait to see the pictures! She must have been beaming.I\’m glad you are all home safe and wish for you a wonderful weekend.

  4. Lisa says:

    My Goodness you made me tired just reading all of that. It doesn\’t sound like you relaxed at all but it does sound like you had a good time….minus all the walking. I have never been to California, It is on my list of top 10 places that I must see.Lisa

  5. Brooke says:

    Wow! What a vacay! 🙂 Sounds like you guys had a lot of fun, though. I love how you said you need to stand on the street to beg for money…trips like that can wipe you clean financially! You should definitely plan the trip to Cabo…you and Hubbie deserve it!Glad you\’re back…sure did miss your stories…oh and can\’t wait to see the new pics!TGIF! ~B

  6. Nice Girl says:

    Kate is very lucky to have such wonderful parents! Now that she is home, I am sure she will start begging to go back! I\’ve missed hearing from you! I am glad you are back — and it sounds like the rest of your fans are too! :)You\’re no soccer mom — you ARE a rocker mama!Amanda

  7. Leah says:

    So, it\’s not only the happiest place on earth, but the most tiring, expensive, and chaos filled? Sounds like you need a vacation to Cabo. Book it! It will probably be less expensive, too. Oh, to be on a beach, with the hot sun beaming down, a cold margarita or mai tai, and a good lookin man fanning me……. Oh, wait… I\’m back. Lost myself there for a minute. 🙂 Whew. that was nice.Okay, I\’m gonna go daydream for a while.Have a good weekend!!

  8. Alice says:

    As usual – I laughed my ass off reading your blog – \’course I am sitting in the business center at the d/t hyatt – so there are some weird glances :)Disneyland and $$$ – totally feel your pain – yes – it\’s like turning on the faucet – it all just flows out – it\’s not real $$ in fantasyland HAHAget ready to be bled dry again tomorrow night at din din.I\’m Looking forward to it!AL

  9. Unknown says:

    Been there…done that! It is the most exhausting and expensive vacation a family can take. Fortunately, the kids only remember the fun!And the park is dry….so no "juice" for mom and dad!Love your site. Keep it up. You make me laugh with each new entry.

  10. Nice Girl says:

    There is absolutely no reason we couldn\’t try to coordinate a blog chat room sometime! We could all vent, make each other laugh, etc all at one time. *clink* It is already after noon on Friday! The weekend is SO close!Amanda

  11. Lana says:

    Hey girl! All in all it sounds like you had fun! I remember when my dad took us to Disney World in FL. I was 5 and remember wanting to go back to the hotel and swim because it was too hot to stand in line! My dad was soooo mad! Here he had paid all this money for vacation and we wanted to camp out at the hotel all day long!So you know how you told me I should send some writings in to a magazine? How would I even go about doing that?

  12. Leah says:

    Vacation\’s like that are so life draining that you do need a vacation from your vacation, but what wonderful memories for Kate of time spent with mom and dad. I\’d give anything to go back to Cabo… AhhhLeah

  13. Lana says:

    Alright girlie! Thanks so much! I might have to take you up on that editor job! Ha! I am going to Borders tonight and checking into it! YOu realize I am going to be bugging the heck out of you with tons of questions right?Have a great weekend!

  14. Mandy says:

    That sounds about right for a family trip! When I go on vacation with my parents now, my mom always goes on and on about how nice it is to have grown-up children. She loves her vacations now…a little less work. I even took my mom to Disneyland a couple years ago and had a BLAST! She said is was nothing like when the family went when I was 9! So, enjoy the kid moments…and you will soon enjoy them as adults too! 🙂

  15. Alice says:

    I am looking forward to your real funny blog later :)As far as martinis – yes – N has a bunch of unique ones. – let\’s try them all (it\’s cheaper than champagne, I think)AL

  16. Unknown says:

    Too funny. Hi Jen, I stumbled upon your blog via Kenny/Dar\’s Spaces. My brother used to live in Arlington and North Dallas, so I know Texas very well. Now he\’s in El Paso. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your Disneyland synopsis and laughed out loud many a time. Been there, done that! It\’s absolutely ridiculous that they can charge $5 for a soda — is that even legal? You\’d think with the price of admission they would provide something "pro bono." Oh no. Anyway, just thought finally comment and formally say "hi." Take it easy and I hope that Toxic Hell cup runneth over soon.Annie

Leave a comment